Anglican Church of Kenya, Diocese of Nakuru was created in 1961 with St. Christopher’s Church as the Pro-Cathedral of the Diocese. However, the current Cathedral Parish Sanctuary was established in the middle of 1969. The foundation stone was laid by the second President of the Republic of Kenya, His Excellency Daniel T. Arap Moi, while still Vice President.  The Rev. David Waweru was appointed the first sub-dean of the Cathedral in 1970.  He served for a short while after which, the Very Rev. John Mahiaini was appointed as the first Provost in 1971.

 The founders of the Cathedral Church of the Good Shepherd were the first Bishop of the Diocese the Rt. Rev. Neville Langsford Smith and Mr. Paul Kiratu, who was the Lay reader then and is still a strong member of the Cathedral to date, among others.

Since its inception the following have served as Provosts in this Parish:

  1. The Very Rev. John Mahiaini Mutua (1972-1983)
  2. The Very Rev. Samuel Njaaga Muthungu (1984-1985),
  3. The Very Rev. David Kinyanjua Macharia(1986-1993), 
  4. The Very Rev. Samuel Ndirangu (1993-1998),
  5. Ven. Canon Philip M. Obwogi (1999-2012)
  6. The current Vicar-in-Charge Rev. Martin W. Kabiru (2013).

 The Cathedral Parish is located within Nakuru town along Oginga Odinga road, opposite Nakuru Central Police Headquarters. Nakuru County headquarters are just nearby as well. Nakuru town has a very good cool climatic condition. It is both business and administrative town.

Cathedral Parish is a one Local Church Parish with a membership of approximately one thousand five hundred (1500) believers comprising of business people, Civil Servants, Non-Governmental Organization workers, students, and job-seekers among others.

In the cathedral,we have great order ..This is a great trait since we want to emulate the trait of our heavenly Father who is of great order.We have leaders in various capacities and departments and through them,we are able to reach out to all the believers.We have degrees such as

Our Lord Bishop Rt.Rev Joseph Muchai

Provost of the Cathedral-The Very Rev. Martin Kabiru

Assistant Vicars- Rev. James Omondi Siwa and Rev. Kennedy Kosgey

Attached Clergy- Rev. Faith Mambo and Rev. Nancy Maina

Lay Readers:  Mrs Susan Njihia(Rtd)

                     Mr Evans Gachigua

                     Mr Isaiah Otieno

                     Mr Erick Makomere

PCC Members Committed Servants of God

 Finance and development committee.

Pastoral Committee.

Nursery School Committee.


Good Shepherd   is an Anglican Cathedral. Globally the Anglican Communion is a worldwide family of Christian Churches with some 70 million members in 164 countries. It was created during the reformation in England where it was called the Church of England; and as it spread to other countries, it came to be referred to as either the Anglican or the Episcopal Church. Anglicans around the planet share a common liturgical and theological tradition, catholic and reformed, which is expressed locally in a wide variety of languages and customs. Each national or regional church within the Communion is autonomous, but the Archbishop of Canterbury is regarded as its spiritual head and a chief sign of its unity.
Within the Anglican Communion is the Anglican Church of Canada,  consisting of over 750,000 members on parish rolls . The first Anglicans in Canada were 16th century English explorers led by Martin Frobisher and his chaplain, the Rev. Robert Wolfall. The church did not become established here, however, until the consecration of Charles Inglis as bishop of Nova Scotia in 1787. He had responsibility for colonists and missionary work as far west as Niagara. The Canadian church developed and grew with the country, becoming administratively independent of the Church of England even as Canada became a self governing dominion within the Commonwealth. The head of the Anglican Church of Canada is the Primate – the presiding bishop of the national church. The current primate of the Anglican Church of Canada is Archbishop Fred Hiltz. 


Our fellowship does not end in the cathedral sanctuary.We have JEHOVAH SHAMMAH PRAYER CENTER  where congregants meet to fellowship and experience God.

Other than that we have cell groups.Through this groups we are able to get to know our neighbor in the christian community.The following are cell groups leaders and their respective areas

MT OLIVET :        (Kiamunyi,Olive Inn) - Mary Kiguru

MR SEIR :            (Freehold, Gulf, Stadium, Daraja) - John Macharia

MT HOREB-         (London, KFA, Milimani, Prisons) Stanley W. Maina

MT MORIAH-      (Flamingo, Kimathi, KFA,Kivumbini,Shauri Yako, Bondeni, Manyani, Ojuka) Tobias Mulama

MT GERIZIM-      (White House, Bahati, Teachers, Sec. 58, Milimani, Naka) Dr. Naomi Ng'ethe

MT ZION -          (Town area, Ngala Flats, Moi Flats, Mohammed Kahero) Samuel Nguma

MT CALVARY-   (Langalanga,Racetrack)  Stephen Ng'ong'a

MT CARMEL-     (Lakeview, Pangani) Mary Ng'ang'a

MT SINAI-        (Jua lako, Lower Kenlands, Weavers, Turners, Kaptembwo) Mary Kadiri

MT TABOR-       (Upper Kenlands, Ngei 1 & 2, N.A.C, Evans, Kasarani Police line) Ken Chiaji

MT HERMON-    (Shabab, Koinange, Bangladesh, Gilani) Vincent Makomere

MT ARARAT-      (St. Elizabeth,Abbey Rd, Jua lako) Charles Kairo

MT LEBANON-    (Mwariki B, Pipeline, Stem, JB, Mzee Wanyama, Greensteads) Simon Peter

MT HEBRON-     (Eveready Roundabout, Baraka Area, RVIST on your way to Njoro and Ngata Estate) Ben Omwandho

MT GILEAD-       (Kiratina, Lanet, Kiamunyi, Wanyororo) Naomi Mwangi


Members and visitors are encouraged to attend the cell group fellowship so as to build a tight home that is rooted in the word strongly built up in Christ.



©2015 ACK Cathedral Church of the Good Shepherd

All rights reserved. Design and Developed by Steve Gaita


P.O. Box 244,NAKURU

Tel: 0708-761 702/ 0786-400 004

E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Social Media


Go to top